Home > Uncategorized > Do fans get too involved?

Do fans get too involved?

In a CFAA article  for the LSU Reveille, Chris Grillot tells the story of an embarrassing display of fanaticism. LSU is ranked #1 in the nation. They are 7-0. They were chosen by CBS as the “SEC Game of the Week.” They literally have no complaints, right?

Wrong.

Fans are upset because CBS changed the kickoff time for the game against Florida to 2:30. They claim CBS is ruining LSU tradition and robbing them of their night game. A fan created a Facebook page called LSU vs. CBS to rail on the media conglomerate’s decision.

Honestly, LSU? It’s not worth the argument. Promise. First of all, the more than 2,000 fans who liked this Facebook page don’t understand that CBS is perfectly within it’s contractual rights to change the kickoff time of the game. CBS’s contract with LSU pays the school an average of $4.2 million annually. I would guess that money is more important to the school than a four or five hour difference in kickoff time.

In general, though, what makes fans think they have a say in things like that? It’s great for fans to be invested in the success of their team, but to approach a sense of ownership is strange. The fans think they know what’s best, what matters, and that their opinion should come first. I think that sense of entitlement is dangerous to the world of college sports.

The article addressed the flaws in LSU fans’ logic, yet it did not give the school’s perspective on the issue, which could have been interesting.

Bottom line: you’re #1. Stop complaining.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. landon93
    October 21, 2011 at 2:48 pm

    Wow, that is ridiculous! I see where they’re coming from with the tradition and everything, but a 5 hour difference in game time? It sounds like some kittens need to grow up. I have a feeling “tradition” is not the only reason, though. I believe another reason is that with the new game time change, that leaves less time for tailgating, which I’ve heard many complaints here at UGA about early games. I will also say that during my time playing high school athletics, I notice that I am more awake and pumped up for play at night rather than in the early afternoon. Although that should never matter. LSU beat the Gators anyway, so maybe it’s time for them to move on.

  2. lhusser1
    October 22, 2011 at 2:42 pm

    That’s annoying. I agree that they just need to stop complaining. I mean come on, they’re number one, what else could they want? But at the same time I am not surprised that someone decided to take matters into their own hands by making a Facebook page. People always think their opinions matter when in situations like this, they really have no say in what happens. I also agree with Landon. I’m sure LSU fans are just really pissed that they are losing 5 hours of tailgating time.

  3. October 23, 2011 at 11:22 am

    I think LSU’s fans realize they are number one and are very excited about it, but a “Saturday night in Death Valley” is just one of their traditions that they hold dear to their hearts. I don’t think that since they are #1, they feel entitled to anything from CBS, I simply think that they really value the atmosphere and tradition of a night game in their home stadium and they are disappointed that they don’t get to experience one on a year as important as this–where they may actually win the National Championship. Maybe the Facebook page was a little out of hand, but you can’t let one outrageous fan ruin the entire school’s reputation and image.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment