Home > Uncategorized > Event Post #3

Event Post #3

On Friday I attended the Fall Invitational Swim meet between Georgia, Cal, Auburn, Virginia, Indiana, UNC- Wilmington, Harvard, Maryland, Florida, and Alabama.  I had never been to a swim meet before so this was a first experience for me.  Despite the overwhelming smell of chlorine, it was a very good experience.  There were people that had to be timers for the races and there were three per lane to make sure that the times were accurate.  There were also people that were working to film the races.  Also, there were people that gave the swimmers massages.  There were not many messages being presented at the game if at all.  There were definitely not any commercial things being promoted. There were a few things to just promote the University of Georgia in general with pamphlets in the stands but there is not a screen to have any commercials so there were not any of those.  It was just focused on the event and promoting the athletes.  In the stands, there were primarily parents of the athletes.  Besides the students that were timers, I’m pretty sure I was the only other student at the event.  If I were a visitor to UGA, I would know that swimming probably is not as big of a deal at the school, but I would definitely be impressed with the facilities for the meet.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment